Have you received a blue Microsoft Warning Alert message?
Maybe after landing on the wrong URL or being diverted to a page after clicking on what you thought was the right URL.
Hey it happens.
These deplorable scam artists embed these descriptive messages into URL’s in hopes of getting you to shell out your hard earned dollars.
They try to create fear with the words they use…
DO NOT IGNORE THIS CRITICAL ALERT.
IF YOU CLOSE THIS PAGE, YOUR COMPUTER ACCESS WITH BE DISABLED TO PREVENT FURTHER DAMAGE TO OUR NETWORK.
Then they try to increase that fear level by saying your information is being captured such as your…
- Facebook logins
- Credit Card Details
- Email Account Logins
- Photos stored on your computer
None of this is true…unless you call the number on the screen.
Once you initiate a call, they will try to assure you that they are there to help and everything will be okay.
Since your guard is down, and you believe they will help, they will ask you to download or grant access to a screen sharing software.
Then they will show you codes or programs that you didn’t even know about…most are legit, and some are actually there to prevent intrusions.
Once access is granted…it’s a free for all for the scammers.
They have your computer, your information, your credit card and sadly they haven’t fixed a darn thing.
For MAC users it’s a simple click the red “exit page” button and the warning goes away.
Unfortunately, for PC users, it can become an all day ordeal (less if you know what you are doing) scanning your system, checking for viruses and cleaning out rogue programs.
But never ever call the number displayed on the screen.
It’s a scam.
They will make your computer worse, copy your information and take your money.
Don’t fall for it.